Albert W. Hawk Award for Distinguished School Board Service

  • The Genesee Valley School Board Associations' Albert W. Hawk Award for Distinguished School Board Service is presented annually to a current or former school board member who, in the judgment of the Distinguished Service Award Committee, should be recognized for outstanding contributions to public education and children in his or her own community.

    The award is named for Albert W. Hawk, a longtime advocate for rural schools and member of both the Dansville Board of Education and the Genesee Valley BOCES Board of Education.  Hawk also chaired many state and national School Board committees. Pictured below are past recipients.

    Rodney                          Bob

    Rodney George, Avon Central Schools.                       Bob DeBruycker, Avon Central Schools
    2017 Al Hawk Award Recipient                                  2017 Al Hawk Award Recipient



    Patrick                          Sarah

    Patrick Burk, Batavia City Schools.                      Sarah Noble-Moag, Pavilion C.S.D
    2016 Al Hawk Award Recipient.                            2015 Al Hawk Award Recipient

    Larry                          Ed

    Lawrence Bonacquisti, Le Roy C.S.D.                    Edward W. Engel, Oakfield-Alabama C.S.D.
    2014 Al Hawk Award Recipient                                   2013 Al Hawk Award Recipient


    Betty                          Don

    Betty Lapp                                                      Donald Hobart
    Genesee Valley BOCES                                   Le Roy Central School District
    2012 Al Hawk Award Recipient                          2010 Al Hawk Award Recipient